Grumpy Cat Revelation

by mtnorwaymommy

Image result for angry cat

Chronic illness can wear on me, putting me at risk for a more serious malady….let’s call it “grumpy cat” syndrome. My “fur” stands up ever so slightly, almost imperceptibly, but ready to rear to typhoon heights if I’m not petted just so. My purrs fade and if someone steps too closely to “my” territorial edges, there may even be a faint hiss. Rage is not a welcome emotion, but left to myself I find that even “nice” me is capable of unclad claws and (perhaps silent) feline ferocity.

The gist of it is that when things don’t go “my way,” I get the joy of cleaning out my internal cat box. As pretty as the surface may be, sprayed with anti-stink spray from Petsmart, carefully combed, I find I have some very smelly character issues to deal with.

Suffering peels back layers of social tidiness and pompous spirituality,  revealing the raw material of our depths. We must face the fleshly struggles that were once covered by predictability and easier times. This is an opportunity to be refined so that healed interior character is reflected on the exterior.

I find new wrestling matches with sinful attitudes take place as I find my way. Good digestion naturally produces good nature, and likewise, poor digestion more readily reveals flawed nature. It is much easier to be kind, patient, gentle, and joyful when most of life is going my way. But when the inevitable struggles come, I suddenly have the opportunity for God to refine and redeem the broken parts of me. Encountering seemingly impossible situations can lead me to become angry and frustrated, spilling over to those proverbial bad attitudes.

As I am designed in the manner of my Creator, I bear some resemblance to Him. We all do, even if we do not recognize Him. Some people are “naturally” good and appear to have many positive qualities, some of us struggle more. But, if we are honest with ourselves, we “all fall short of the glory of God.” (Romans 3:23b)

This is yet another spectacular opportunity in the land of suffering! There is mercy in all of this revelation. It shows me the depths of my character that require transformation and reminds me that I need a Great Physician to heal ALL of my diseases, especially those of the soul. Even “grumpy cat” syndrome.

 Whoever sows to please their flesh, from the flesh will reap destruction; whoever sows to please the Spirit, from the Spirit will reap eternal life. Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” Galatians 6:8, 9