Clutterless Living

by mtnorwaymommy

Related image

Hmmm.  Spell check says that clutterless is not a word.  Now, here is where I use my Linguistic degree and declare that Noam Chomsky’s thoughts make it one.  According to the guru of my UW degree, if we are a native speaker of the tongue and say something, it is correct.  (Liberal Arts education comes in handy, eh?)

So, busy souls with overflowing counters and uber-packed calendars, let’s pause for 3 minutes and consider it all.  (Uber-packed; see how I did that?)

My idea of a clean house does not usually involve dusting and floor care.  It does require clutter be picked up and out of sight, or sent to the local thrift shop (Fofi is my favorite in Washougal, btw.) As I contemplate my mental counters, I often find piles perched all about, filling up my time, creating stress and removing peace.  I’ll focus on physical clutter another time.  Today, let’s talk cluttered clocks.

One of my favorite thoughts on work/life/family/friend balance goes like this, “You cannot keep adding to the platter without taking something off.”

Think about it this way. When you go to the beautiful buffet table, the first trip is always the easiest.  You go hungry and with a clean plate.  Imagine a spread where you were not allowed to get a new plate every time.  The second trip would find you pushing chicken bones and fish skin to the side, trying to make space for round two between the grape stems and half eaten mu shoo pork.  The third set would be even trickier, trying to keep the last bit of your coconut curry from blending with the orange jello and almond cookies. Ewwwwwww.

We make choices everyday on how we will spend our time, our energy.

Prioritizing helps.

I guess that’s where we can begin.  What is most important to you? I go through seasons of reevaluation.  What needs to change? What am I called to for this season in life? Where do I  need to trim? A little prayer and contemplation can do wonders, bringing freedom and fresh spiritual space.

Examine relationships, hobbies, activities. Consider responsibilities and routines. Eyeball the calendar.  Where are you spending your resources?

There are times where we sprint, with a heavy load, but we cannot do this indefinitely.  Pace yourself. Refresh yourself.

I am reading a book on the concept of Sabbath rest.  We are so BUSY, that for many of us, even things that should bring us joy feel like chores.  Hmmm.  SCHEDULE some time in to contemplate your life and consider your calendar.  One of my friends calls it “whitespace.”  She lives an active, productive, JOYFUL life, but guards time blocks for peace and renewal.

Even more importantly, God calls us to be thoughtful with our time resources.

“See then that ye walk circumspectly, not as fools, but as wise, Redeeming the time, because the days are evil.” Ephesians 5:15, 16

I chose the King James because it says it a bit more bluntly.  Here’s the April version: Walk (not run) deliberately. Don’t be a fool! Be wise. Time is short and there is evil about, so pay attention.

God calls us to use our time for His purpose in these crazy days. Maybe He has some wise guidance for how we use our time.

There are times where you really have to make a big change. I continue to grow in this. Consider wisely. Count the cost. Pray and listen. Talk with a trusted friend. And then forge ahead. Or, as Chomsky would concur, walk circumspectacularly.